If you have more users than licenses, you can restrict who can see licensed content by importing a list of Subscription users and configuring your subscription to Block New Users. These are the steps you need to take.
First, you will need to configure your subscription to Block New Users. You can edit this in your subscription configuration by clicking on the hamburger menu in the Help panel and going to Manage My Subscription > Manage Subscription and scrolling down to the Users section. This tab is editable by Subscription Administrators. Make sure this field is toggled to Yes.
Next, you will need to upload a list of Subscription users. To do so:
- Create a .CSV file containing the email addresses of the users you wish to allow. Your CSV file must have an Email, FirstName, and LastName header with a value for each field in each column.
- From the Help panel hamburger menu, go to Manage My Subscription > Manage Subscription
- Click the Users tab
- Click the Subscription Users tab
- Click the Import Users button
- Select the CSV file you created in step 1.
- Set the Unblock Blocked Users toggle to Yes.
- Click Import.
Now only users who are in the Subscription Users list will see licensed content in the Help panel.
Update your licensed users
It is typical for a company to have employee churn so your licensed users will soon contain users who are no longer employees. If you have a limited number of licenses, this could cause your subscription to go over your licensed user count. It is important to keep this information up-to-date. If you only have a few users that no longer work for your organization, you can easily search for their name in the Subscription Users list and click the Block button.
For larger subscription, it will be easier to upload a list of employees that no longer work for your organization. You can do this by downloading your current list of Subscription Users and comparing it with a list of your active employees from Active Directory. All of the users who don't have a match in the active employees list should be uploaded as Blocked Users. This will remove them from the Subscription Users list.